What’s the Word, Issue 21: Lush with Awareness

What’s the Word

rose

by C. Desert Rose


cooltext230507888257869

Hi there!

hello

Rose here!

It’s been a minute. Not sure exactly how long of a minute it’s been, but I know it’s been some time since we’ve last played “What’s the Word”. Feels like forever if I’m to be completely honest.

At any rate, I guess I’m just happy to be here and share my thoughts with you.

I was giving some thought to this issue’s theme, “Lush with Awareness”, and I realized that awareness comes from wisdom. How else can you see something unless you know to look for it? With that in mind, I chose “Wisdom” as this issues word.

Wisdom

1 word

2 syllables

Definition:

definition

History:

origin

Little giggle and side note … this is where I got the name for the main character in “If Death Should Love Me”. I just adored the meaning of the name Sophia.

Please permit me a smidgen of self-promoting.

Boom!

51rqejrjcgl-_sx260_

Okay, now that that’s out of the way. Let’s go on with the word of the issue.

Wisdom …

My grandmother used to say, “El que no sabe, es como el que no ve.” Roughly translated, that means, “He who has no wisdom is like a blind man.” What this means is that said individual is in the dark.

What a pity to be foolhardy. What a lowly way of life to not grasp certain concepts or have the cognizance of mind to notice, process and comprehend the important matters in life. It makes me sad, to be honest. Sad to think that people, whether willingly or unwillingly, live in oblivious ecstasy.

At the same time, I envy them. Oh, how I sometimes wish I could ignore certain things, or not know certain things. Perhaps, it would make life a lot easier.

Of course, that’s not who I am. I am “A Seer”. Clairvoyant to almost everything and anything. Maybe, not in the supernatural way that most people associate the word with. But, more so in a grounded way that leads to learning, understanding, analyzing and, yes, sometimes speculating.

Maybe that’s why I am a writer. The way my mind is set up, I am not content with not knowing.

But, let’s take a closer look at Wisdom, shall we?

wisdom4

Aristotle, good one, man. Real good.

This saying is so powerful for it IS indeed in knowing oneself where wisdom is born. I had to make a deliberate choice to learn myself, and when I did my mind opened to a capacity that only in obtaining wisdom via patience did my heart become satiated.

wisdom1

Nothing is more infuriating than a know it all. That’s why this poster hits home for me.

Whether the Universe’s way of building my gift of patience and benevolence, I cannot say. But, I had the displeasure of being given a brother that was a know it all. No matter what the subject, he always had his two cents to put in. The worst of it, was that the two cents usually equaled twenty dollars and some change. In other words, he talked too much. Waaaay too much. The point wasn’t to teach people something, it was to tell people what he thought he knew. Nowadays, most people don’t like him. Because, he uses a lot of words, but says nothing. Substance is everything.

wisdom2

This poster couldn’t be anymore on point. For all that I’ve learned in books, it’s life that’s taught me the most important lessons. Things like:

  1. Everyone has an opinion, but what you think of yourself is the most important thing.
  2. Love comes in many ways, shapes and sizes; appreciate it in whatever way you get it.
  3. Unconditional acceptance is a gift that not everyone has the privilege of having.
  4. It IS the small things in life that means the most.
  5. Tick for tat is never a way to live your life.

Those things among many others.

***

Lush with Awareness is just a fancy way of saying “Grow your wisdom.” Remember, this …

wisdom3

That’s the word! Peace out!


So … THAT’S THE WORD!